Judicial Races, Wright County Commission Highlight St. Michael, Albertville Primary Election

Voters in Wright County District 4 will whittle the race down to two candidates, while partisan ballots will push through candidates in state and federal races at Tuesday’s vote.

Tuesday’s Minnesota Primary will clear up a muddled picture in Wright County District 4, where five candidates are vying to advance to two spots in the general election in November.

A reminder that primary ballots in Minnesota are partisan ballots, so voters must stick to one party on that side of the ballot. County and judicial races are non-partisan.

Copies of the ballots are attached to this story.

Polls at the , (Precinct 1A) and (Precinct 1B) will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. Tuesday.

David Dayon, , Michael Beyer, Mike Potter and Matt Walker are looking to move on from the new District 4, which includes portions of St. Michael (Precinct 1A), Hanover (Precincts 2 and 3) and all of Albertville, Rockford Township and Rockford.

In Wright County District 3, which includes St. Michael Precinct 1B, all of Otsego and Dayton (within Wright County), Tom Darkenwald of Otsego will challenge Mark Daleiden of St. Michael

Judicial races will also have a large stake in the primary.

Incumbent Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Lorie Skjerven Gildea is being challenged by Dan Griffith and Jill Clark. Meanwhile, David R. Stras, an associate justice on the state’s high court, faces challenges from Tim Tingelstad and Alan Anderson.

New State Senate District 30 has a primary battle in the Republican column, where longtime politician Mary Kiffmeyer of Big Lake is being challenged by newcomer. On the DFL side, is not being challenged.

Sixth District Congresswoman has two challengers in this primary. She’ll square off with Aubrey Immelman, a St. Cloud area resident who challenged her two years ago, and Stephen Thompson. Democratic candidate Jim Graves is not being challenged.

At the Senate level, incumbent Sen. Amy Klobuchar faces a primary challenge from fellow Dems Darryl Stanton, Jack Edward Shepard and Dick Franson. Republicans have endorsed Kurt Bills, but challengers Bob Carney Jr. and David Carlson are also on the ballot.

The Independence Party has Glen R. Anderson Menze and Stephen Williams in the U.S. Senate race, as well.

Dave in Otsego August 14, 2012 at 04:14 PM
VOTE OUT ALL INCUMBENTS! VOTE FOR BILLS AND BOLIN!! I've seen many of their yard signs together!
R. Westermann August 14, 2012 at 04:18 PM
How do you explain the signs in STM next to Dave Dayon (a known Republican), and next to Michele Bachmann up in Elk River. Clearly this guy appeals to a lot of people... which is what happens when you go out on foot and do things the right way. And Sprite, answer me, what about Paul's campaign has been negative? I'm pretty sure it was "Eric" and "JoJo" who came out attacking him on here as quickly as they could. His campaign website looks pristine. You guys all sound like a bunch of party hacks.
MinuteMan August 14, 2012 at 07:28 PM
@"Sprite": Aren't you a Republican, endorsing Republican candidates? Yet you say Mary Kiffmeyer "if only for the primary"? So are you voting for Democrat Paul Perovich in the election? I guess we know now who's the Democrat in Republican clothing. From everything I've read and from meeting him at my door, Paul Bolin is a solid Conservative.
SRM August 15, 2012 at 02:30 AM
Don't judge sign locations as to how someone leans politically. Bolin signs have been seen in known DFL yards.
Mike Schoemer August 15, 2012 at 03:01 AM
Folks, let's express our own views and try not to put words into each other's mouths. Thanks.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »